The National Universities Commission (NUC) has observed with great concern that some Nigerian universities are running unapproved postgraduate programmes, leading to the award of Masters and PhD degrees. The Commission has also observed that some Parastatals and Institutes are awarding these Postgraduate degrees, either on their own or through unapproved affiliations with Nigerian and Foreign Universities. Such practices are not only unethical, but also antithetical to time-tested quality assurance best practices. The qualifications/awards resulting therefrom are not recognized. The Commission hereby notifies the general public that only the following universities have approval to offer postgraduates programmes at the Masters’ and PhD levels in Nigeria, as of 30th July, 2012;

Federal Universities with Approved Postgraduate Programmes in Nigeria

  1. Abubaka Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi
  2. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria – Kaduna State
  3. Bayero University, Kano – Kano State
  4. Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Ogun State
  5. Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun, Delta State. (formerly Petroleum Training Institute)
  6. Federal University of Technology, Akure, Ondo State
  7. Federal University of Technology, Minna, Niger State
  8. Federal University of Technology, Owerri, Imo State
  9. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike, Abia State
  10. Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola, Adamawa State
  11. National University of Nigeria, Lagos State
  12. Nigeria Defense Academy, Kaduna State
  13. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, Anambra State
  14. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Osun State
  15. University of Abuja, Abuja F.C.T
  16. University of Agriculture, Abeokuta,
  17. University of Agriculture, Makurdi, Banue State
  18. University of Benin, Benin City – Edo State
  19. University of Calabar, Calabar – Cross River State
  20. University of Ibadan, Ibadan – Oyo State
  21. University of Ilorin, Ilorin - Kwara State
  22. University of Jos, Jos - Plateau State
  23. University of Lagos, Akoka, Lagos State
  24. University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri Borno State
  25. University of Nigeria, Nssuka, Enugu State
  26. University of Port-Harcourt, Port-Harcourt, River State
  27. University of Uyo, Uyo Akwa-Ibom State
  28. Usman Danfodiyo, Sokoto, Sokoto State

State Universities with Approved Postgraduate Programmes in Nigeria

  1. Abia State University, Uturu
  2. Adamawa State University, Mubi
  3. Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba – Akoko, Ondo State
  4. Akwa Ibom State University, Ikot Ikpaden
  5. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma, Edo State
  6. Anambra State University, Uli
  7. Bauchi State University, Gadau
  8. Benue State University, Makurdi
  9. Cross River State University of Technology, Calabar
  10. Delta State University, Abraka
  11. Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki
  12. Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti (formerly University of Ado-Ekiti
  13. Enugu state University of Sciencce & Technology, Enugu
  14. Imo State University, Owerri
  15. Kano State University of Science and Technology Wudil
  16. Kebbi State University of Science & Technology, Aliero
  17. Kogi State University, Anyigba
  18. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso
  19. Lagos State University, Ojo, Lagos
  20. Nasarawa State University, Keffi
  21. Niger-Delta University, Yenagoa, Bayelsa State
  22. Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye
  23. Rivers State University of Science & Technology Port-Harcourt
  24. The Technical University, Ibadan
  25. Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University, Katsina

State Universities with Approved Postgraduate Programmes in Nigeria

  1. Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State
  2. African University of Science & Technology, Abuja
  3. Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin (M.Sc only)
  4. American University of Nigeria, Yola
  5. Babcock University, Ilishan Remo
  6. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City
  7. Bowen University, Iwo
  8. Caleb University, Lagos
  9. Convenant University, Ota
  10. Igbinedion University, Okada
  11. Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeja-Arakeji, Osun State
  12. Leads City University, Ibadan, Oyo State
  13. Madonna University, Okija (M.Sc only)
  14. Nigerian Turkish Nile University, Abuja
  15. Pan-Atlantic University, Lagos
  16. Redeemers University, Ede, Osun State
  17. University of Mkar, Mkar (M.Sc only)
Share on Google Plus


The publications and/or documents on this website are provided for general information purposes only. Your use of any of these sample documents is subjected to your own decision NB: Join our Social Media Network on Google Plus | Facebook | Twitter | Linkedin